If you have been charged with disorderly conduct a skilled Denver disorderly conduct defense attorney is essential. Get in touch with experienced Denver disorderly conduct defense attorney Jason Savela and by calling (720) 821-1001.
Disorderly conduct is defined in C.R.S. 18-9-106 which makes it a crime to breach the peace, fight in public, discharge a firearm, fight in public, or cause other disturbances. Specifically, the statute states:
- A person commits disorderly conduct if he or she intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly:
- Makes a coarse and obviously offensive utterance, gesture, or display in a public place and the utterance, gesture, or display tends to incite an immediate breach of the peace; or
- (Deleted by amendment, L. 2000, p. 708, § 39, effective July 1, 2000.)
- Makes unreasonable noise in a public place or near a private residence that he has no right to occupy; or
- Fights with another in a public place except in an amateur or professional contest of athletic skill; or
- Not being a peace officer, discharges a firearm in a public place except when engaged in lawful target practice or hunting or the ritual discharge of blank ammunition cartridges as an attendee at a funeral for a deceased person who was a veteran of the armed forces of the United States; or
- Not being a peace officer, displays a deadly weapon, displays any article used or fashioned in a manner to cause a person to reasonably believe that the article is a deadly weapon, or represents verbally or otherwise that he or she is armed with a deadly weapon in a public place in a manner calculated to alarm.
- (a) An offense under paragraph (a) or (c) of subsection (1) of this section is a class 1 petty offense; except that, if the offense is committed with intent to disrupt, impair, or interfere with a funeral, or with intent to cause severe emotional distress to a person attending a funeral, it is a class 2 misdemeanor.
(b) An offense under paragraph (d) of subsection (1) of this section is a class 3 misdemeanor.
(c) An offense under paragraph (e) or (f) of subsection (1) of this section is a class 2 misdemeanor.
Under Colorado law, the penalty you can face if you are convicted of disorderly conduct varies depending on how the crime was charged.
Contact a Colorado criminal defense lawyer representing clients in Denver, CO today to schedule your initial consultation.
If you are charged with a Class 1 Petty Offense in Colorado, you can be punished2 by:
- A fine up to $500, and/or,
- Up to 6 months in jail
If you charged with a Class 3 misdemeanor in Colorado3, the penalty for this criminal offense includes:
- A fine ranging from $50 up to $750, and/or,
- Up to 6 months in jail
If you would like to schedule an initial consultation, contact a Colorado criminal defense attorney, we represent clients in Denver, Colorado, and the surrounding area. The Savela Law Firm, P.C. Give us a call at (720) 821-1001 or complete our inquiry form.
If you are charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor in Colorado4, the penalty may include:
- A fine ranging from $250 up to $1,000, and/or,
- A jail sentence ranging from 3 months to 12 months
If you have been charged with disorderly conduct an experienced Denver criminal defense lawyer is essential. Get in touch with experienced Denver disorderly conduct defense attorney Jason Savela and by calling (720) 821-1001.