If you have been charged with prohibited use of weapons a skilled Denver prohibited use of weapons defense attorney is essential. Get in touch with experienced Denver prohibited use of weapons defense attorneys Jason Savela and Ryan Dawson by filling out our online contact form or by calling (720) 821-1001.
Colorado Revised Statutes § 18-12-106 – Prohibited Use of Weapons
(1) A person commits a class 2 misdemeanor if:
(a) He knowingly and unlawfully aims a firearm at another person; or
(b) Recklessly or with criminal negligence he discharges a firearm or shoots a bow and arrow; or
(c) He knowingly sets a loaded gun, trap, or device designed to cause an explosion upon being tripped or approached, and leaves it unattended by a competent person immediately present; or
(d) The person has in his or her possession a firearm while the person is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or of a controlled substance, as defined in section 18-18-102 (5). Possession of a permit issued under section 18-12-105.1, as it existed prior to its repeal, or possession of a permit or a temporary emergency permit issued pursuant to part 2 of this article is no defense to a violation of this subsection (1).
(e) He knowingly aims, swings, or throws a throwing star or nunchaku as defined in this paragraph (e) at another person, or he knowingly possesses a throwing star or nunchaku in a public place except for the purpose of presenting an authorized public demonstration or exhibition or pursuant to instruction in conjunction with an organized school or class. When transporting throwing stars or nunchaku for a public demonstration or exhibition or for a school or class, they shall be transported in a closed, non-accessible container. For purposes of this paragraph (e), "nunchaku" means an instrument consisting of two sticks, clubs, bars, or rods to be used as handles, connected by a rope, cord, wire, or chain, which is in the design of a weapon used in connection with the practice of a system of self-defense, and "throwing star" means a disk having sharp radiating points or any disk-shaped bladed object which is hand-held and thrown and which is in the design of a weapon used in connection with the practice of a system of self-defense.
Contact a Colorado criminal defense lawyer representing clients in Denver, CO today to schedule your initial consultation.
A class 2 misdemeanor can result in a sentence of up to 12 months in jail. This charge is probation eligible.
Using alcohol or drugs while possessing a gun is a common cause of this charge. If it is time to have a beer, first unload and properly store your guns.
In addition to this charge, pointing a weapon at someone or brandishing a weapon can result in menacing charges, a class 5 felony with a presumptive prison sentence of 1-3 years, possible aggravation up to 6 years, including 2 years parole. A felony conviction terminates a person’s gun rights forever.
While weapons, like nunchaku or throwing stars, may be sold in many places, their possession and use are restricted by this statute.
If you would like to schedule an initial consultation, contact a Colorado criminal defense attorney, we represent clients in Denver, Colorado, and the surrounding area. The Savela Law Firm, P.C. Give us a call at (720) 821-1001 or complete our inquiry form.
Please review search and seizure sections as well as the right to remain silent and have an attorney present when speaking with police. Just say, I want a lawyer. Just say, I do not consent to any search. The police will do what they do, save your arguments for court.
If you have been charged with prohibited use of weapons an experienced Denver criminal defense lawyer is essential. Get in touch with experienced Denver criminal defense attorneys Jason Savela and Ryan Dawson by filling out our online contact form or by calling (720) 821-1001.