Arson involves burning property illegally. Colorado law has four different versions of criminal arson depending upon the type of property burned, how it is burned, and whether people are put in danger by the burning.
Contact a Colorado criminal defense lawyer representing clients in Golden, CO today to schedule your initial consultation.
Second Degree Arson
Second-degree arson is defined by CRS 18-4-103(1). Second-degree arson occurs when somebody burns another’s a property without their consent, and the property is anything other than an occupied building or structure. This can include personal property, not just burning buildings and structures.
The Colorado legislature defines second-degree arson as when a person:
2. set fire to, burned, or caused to be burned, or by the use of any explosive damaged or destroyed, or caused to be damaged or destroyed,
3. any property of another, other than a building or occupied structure,
4. without that person’s consent.
Second-degree arson is a class 4 felony with the possibility of up to six years in prison and fines of up to $500,000. Alternatively, 2nd degree arson can be a class 2 misdemeanor if the value of the property was less than $100.00.
If you would like to schedule an initial consultation, contact a Colorado criminal defense attorney, we represent clients in Golden, Colorado, and the surrounding area. The Savela Law Firm, P.C. Give us a call at (720) 821-1001 or complete our inquiry form.
Although each case is different, there are several defenses to arson charges including alibi, defense, mistaken identity, general denial, elemental defenses, and others. Many of these defenses can be used to get charges dropped or dismissed or a not guilty verdict at trial.
If you have been charged with arson an experienced Denver arson attorney is essential. Get in touch with experienced Denver arson defense attorney Jason Savela by calling (720) 821-1001.